Monday’s Musings….

Happy Monday Folks!  It’s the start of another week – we have  fresh opportunities to create the life we desire to experience, don’t forget that!  This Monday we’re paying homage to news makers and creators that inspire us!  Enjoy and be intentional about creating the life you wish to experience!

Emmy Award-Winning AIDS Activist, Rae Lewis-Thornton As a Child

Monday Reflections – Never Could Have Made It (Rae Lewis-Thornton: A Diva Living With AIDS) After my granddaddy died all my protection died right along with him, so I believed. But looking back over it all I know that God was my protector all along. I know this one thing for sure, without Him, I never could have made it.

My journey of pain started early. Granddaddy took me from my parents who were both heroin addicts when I was a toddler. But Grandaddy died when I was six and his wife kept me. The lady I call Mama was my grandfather’s 3rd wife and 25 years his junior. From day one she instilled in me that nobody wanted me. She was all I had. It was all so overwhelming and seemed hopeless for my little self.

Mama drank Christian Brothers from the pantry and ruled with her mouth and the extension cord. Sometimes her mouth hurt worst than the whelps on my face and across my back.  Click here for the full article

Then we talked a lot about Dr. Laura’s slugging of the “N-word” on her show.  Our friends at The Black Snob gives more insight….

Dr. Laura Wants to Know Why She Can’t Use The N-Word…

Dr. Laura

So some woman with a syndicated radio show who I didn’t realize still had a radio show because she is that inconsequential to me said the “N-word” six times on the radio. She was frustrated because some poor woman looking for advice claimed that she was in an interracial marriage and wanted to know what she could do about her husband’s friends and family being racially insensitive. Apparently, they liked to use the N-word and such around her and Dr. Laura got all kinds of “get over it” because that’s just what you’re supposed to expect if you marry outside your race. You DESERVE all the racist hell relatives unleash on you (according to Dr. Laura). You’re asking for it and just like wearing a miniskirt is an invitation for rape: White people can’t help but be racist towards you. You’re black! (Per Dr. Laura) So why so serious? Why on Earth would she find a racially loaded pejorative so inflammatory? It was almost like she expected people to respect her as a human being.

Black people, I swear. What’s with this whole “demanding respect” thing? That is so racist. Why are you black people always pointing out that foot on your neck? It’s just trying to give you a massage! Ungrateful…click here to read full article.

Enjoy and start the conversation to talk back on these thought-provoking issues!

Leave a Reply

