Blogging is the new…..Me?!

Intern Tia Tia!

June 22, 2010 was my first blog that I uploaded, “Appreciating the Sound of Music.” I was instructed to write a blog on Electric Violinist, Ken Ford’s foundation.  Walking into it I was extremely nervous because I had NEVER wrote a blog before.  When writing a press release, setting up a website, or a press packet I have a little experience, but when it came to blogging I was hesitant.

So I wrote my version of my blog and sent it over to Tamika Morrison, my Public Relations Advisor.  She wanted to edit it before I uploaded, which I appreciated, but once it was uploaded I could see many things were changed.  With this being my first blog Ms. Tamika told me I did a great job, but there were a few errors.  After that blog came two more, I still hadn’t mastered blogging so each time I would submit my copy of the blog it would be revised.

When blogging you think of it to be your own online personal diary, but you also have to remember to be professional.  Each blog that I submitted was revised by Tamika, and then uploaded.  I was a little down because I was so eager to master blogging, but after speaking with Ms. Tamika I was Ok.

“Portia, even some of the best writers have to get their papers edited over and over, so don’t take don’t take it personal,” ensured Tamika.  When she told me that I felt a lot better, I know that I am not one of the best writers so that means I just have to keep practicing.  Which is why I am so thankful to Tamika Morrison and Rochelle Valsaint, they are truly providing me with the tools and techniques to be successful.  On a personal level I even look up to these ladies; here are two African-American young beautiful women loving their jobs that they have personally made into their OWN!!! True entrepreneurs and for that I say thank you to Tamika, Rochelle and the other intern Keri!!!!

Signing off,

Intern Tia Tia

One response to “Blogging is the new…..Me?!

  1. Love this post. So proud of watching your development. Just keep working at it. I assure you it will definitely be worth it!

Leave a Reply

