Appreciating ‘The Sound’ of Music

The Ken Ford Foundation

By: Portia Rice

I’m new to the TWS blog roll and call it quite an honor to write my first post ever!  Since coming onboard, it’s been all things music, entertainment, fashion, media – all very exciting!  However, the one moment I’ve come to really appreciate is our agency’s involvement with keeping music alive in our schools through The Ken Ford Foundation.

In this day and time, it’s really a challenge for children to get exposure to the kind of music that can fuel their dreams – this is heartbreaking, considering we live in such a time where the world is at our fingertips, but sadly, music seems to be slipping through.

With a recent appearance on our agency’s show, The Greenlight Project, this unique,talented and most of all gifted musician, Ken Ford, will be sharing his talent with us in concert June 25, 2010 at the Porter Sanford Performing Arts Center in Atlanta.  The concert is actually FREE to children and will have Grammy-nominated vocalist, Dionne Farris, singer/songwriter/producer/musician Daniel Moore who’s also a staple on BET’s The Mo’Nique Show and new pop/urban/soul/alternative vocalist, Salakida all performing and I hear there are even more surprises in store. Talk about awesome!

Growing up in Milwaukee, WI as a student of Atwater Elementary School, we had the choice to play an instrument beginning in the third grade. I was so eager have my chance at playing an instrument because all of the “popular kids” were either in orchestra or the band.  When I finally I made it to the third grade, I was introduced to the violin so to have Ken Ford become so accomplished at it makes me very proud to say that I played as well.  The violin often gets a bad rap, but I was excited and enthusiastic to play and continued playing throughout elementary through the eighth grade.  While playing the violin I learned a lot about myself and I became at peace with things I was going through.  The violin itself is such a strong and graceful object that the horse-tailed bow just adds to the music, giving it that soft melody!

I do have to give credit where it’s due, my father loves jazz, so every day on the way to school he’d make me listen to “Smooth Jazz” 93.3 FM!  At first, I hated listening to it because it was all instruments never an artist singing!  My dad would always say, “Now this is really music Portia; just sit back and listen to the violin, clarinet, and flute.”  I would just sigh and sit back in my seat (OMG, it felt like torture!)..  When I think back to those times, I can really appreciate an artist like Ken Ford because he is really making “real” music and not just using a Mac to Google a sound for his next song!

When listening to Ken Ford, there is no need for a vocal artist because his nonverbal communication skills speak for him.  The way he rocks back and forth and moves with the bow makes you feel the melodies going through one ear and out the other.  This concert will truly be inspiring and relaxing, make sure to come out and enjoy this wonderful concert all the while supporting music and arts in school – and did I mention it’s free to children??  Or if you’re not in the Atlanta area, listen to our show when the critically acclaimed electric violinist, Ken Ford was the guest and hear him for yourself!

Thanks for allowing me to share my blog with you .

Signing off,

Intern Tia Tia

6 responses to “Appreciating ‘The Sound’ of Music

  1. Very good, I am so proud of you

    Love your God Mother

  2. Love your first post Intern Tia Tia! Looking forward to many more!

  3. Orlando C. Rice

    Good afternoon Ms Tia Tia, well written blog about Mr Ken Ford and your indoctrination to Jazz music . Yes…. you sat quietly as I drove you to Atwater elementary school not knowing that those formative years of bonding would place you at TWS. Body Mind Spirit , Orlando & Tammy Griffin-Rice

  4. Genene Green-Miller

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading your blog Miss Tia Tia. What is the adult admission? Keep up the good work!

    Big Cousin Genene

  5. Great Job on your first blog commentary. What I loved the most was your ability to connect with Mr. Ken Ford and relate that to your own experience with music. Keep up the good work.

  6. Pingback: Blogging is the new…..Me?! « The UnAgency Approach

Leave a Reply

