The Class Clown

By: K. Denise Richardson

I will admit that I have been known to crack a joke or two in my day. But there is a time and place for everything. I’m a grown woman, there is no need for me to still be experiencing class clown scenarios. ESPECIALLY at 5:30am!

Today was the first day of my month long “rise and shines” for military style boot camp. I know right, Shoot me now!! Needless to say, I am DEAD tired writing this post. Anyhow, aside from arriving 5 minutes late (to my defense, I was lost in the park) and having to do extra squats and hill runs, there was a really annoying factor added to my workout: The funny fat guy. I understand that friends sign up to make boot camp more bearable and fun. However, I am there to get it in. I have a goal in mind. I do not want to keep hearing you cracking jokes over the instructor NOR do I want to have to do extra planks because your a** can’t close your mouth.

Now, it’s not that large of class, maybe 15 of us with 2 instructors. So we all feel that we get specialized attention, but I guess he needed more. He dished out one liners after every instruction, interjected himself in conversations that did not pertain to him, and counted loudly on mat exercises while huffing, puffing and panting at the slightest sign of fatigue from the runs. Yeah, he may have been a bigger guy but he was OVERKILL and he really worked my nerves. I don’t know… maybe the burn of my thighs or the roots of my hair steadily rising added fuel to my fire and I could just be overreacting.

Upon our last set of crunches, where he jokingly skipped from 10 to 50 in counting, I was pretty fed up and decided to move my mat the another location. Yes, I was THAT done. After this whole hour of rubbing me the wrong way, his luck with me changed for the better. I overheard a husband tell his wife, “I don’t know if I can make this tomorrow. I’m in pain.” Class Clown, of course, imposed on the convo and told the husband “I’m the fat one of the class. If I can make it, you can make it. And if you quit you’re going to look like me.” As I walked to the car, his last words stuck with me and I smiled at him. I realize that maybe that was his way of making it through. So yes, I will be back tomorrow …ON TIME. Even if I don’t sit, squat, or crunch by him, we’re in this together.

29 more days *pray for me*

2 responses to “The Class Clown

  1. Too funny! I really like your writing style!

    ~Tamika

  2. Candace Hollingsworth

    This is a great post, Keri! I didn’t know you had a blog and have now read almost all of your entries. *lol* You’re a great writer and have a very honest, inviting, and mature perspective on life…keep it up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

