Unleashing the Baggage

By: Tamika L. Morrison

Ever listen to the lyrics of Erykah Badu’s ‘Bag Lady’? She says:

Bag Lady

Bag lady you gone miss your bus
You can’t hurry up
Cause you got too much stuff
When they see you comin
[They Just] take off runnin

From you it’s true oh yes they do

Boy, don’t we all carry a heavy load – men and women!  In this fallen world I’ve learned the wounds of living a life that gives you wisdom, experience and success rarely ever – if ever – will protect you from the pains that’s part of obtaining all that ‘good stuff’ I just mentioned.  I never realized it also required me to learn those other benefits like forgiveness, moving on to the next and just letting it go <– the latter is what I often find the most difficult to do and so, my baggage gets heavier.  You know what I’m talking about?

As Badu’s lyrics so eloquently warn, “One day all them bags gone get in your way”. To make sure you got that, I made the last sentence in larger letters on purpose *wink*.  And trust, that day may come as unexpected and unwelcome as all the other curve balls life put in our path – but you don’t have to be caught off guard.  I’m one that embraces the idea – as often as I need – of seeking an objective viewpoint.  For those of you still lost – I mean, seeking out a therapist.  I have sought the help of a trusted therapist in the past and when I need a little help getting over the hump or spring cleaning my proverbial closet when it gets too daunting to tackle on my own, I dial-up my therapist!

Some of us believe that we’re ‘strong enough’, ‘wise enough’, ‘smart enough’ to figure it all out – I’m with you!  But, I also know when things just get a little too convoluted in my quest to understand, forgive, recall, forgive, re-live, forgive, hurt again, forgive – normally that only equates to me going into fierce protection mode which looks like: anger, defensiveness, attitudinal mood swings and maybe actual swings if I don’t get that objective viewpoint soon enough!

So, in the spirit of Badu’s ‘Bag Lady’, I encourage us all to clean up those closets when they very apparently call you to do so and pack light – you don’t want to miss your train or plane to your desired destination (marriage, career advancement, career fulfillment, friends/relationships, vacations, etc.) because you had too much of a load.

UNLEASH THE BAGGAGE!

Until next time,

Peace….

Follow me @twsprfirm

Leave a Reply

