The Soundtracks of My Life

By Tamika L. Morrison

Do you ever think of starring in your own video or creating a soundtrack to your life?  Call me vain, imaginative or bizarre, but I’ve always imagined having my own video to certain songs even before reality TV was born!  As we come off the celebration of Memorial Day Weekend to honor our nation’s soldiers for the supreme sacrifice they offer us – I encourage you to use the spirit of liberty and put on the soundtrack to your life and dance like nobody’s watchin’!

If I had one song to choose as my life’s soundtrack , it would be Goapele’sCloser to my Dreams’.  I remember when I first heard that song; it was love at first note!  She literally took me ‘higher and higher beyond what I could see’ into my greatest desires so I could begin to visualize what life might have in store for me.  It was amazing to embrace and believe these things were possible for me.

I was living in my hometown of Charlotte, North Carolina at the time and was really starting to taste the juicy fruits of my hard-earned labor.  I’d just moved into my townhouse I built from the ground up, was excelling at work and trying out my new-found creative freedom as a published writer but I often wondered was there more?  The lyrics that spoke to me says:

Some times it feels like I’ll never go pass here
Some times it feels like I’m stuck forever and ever

But, I’m going higher
Closer to my dreams
I’m goin’ higher and higher
I can almost reach

Every time I needed a reminder of how far I could truly reach – no matter the obstacles or challenges I faced, I’d play this song.  It wasn’t long before I literally threw caution to the wind and found myself packing up leaving the townhouse I was so proud to live in for three years and the career that seemed to be moving smoothly along and heading to the big city of Atlanta into a one-bedroom apartment in Buckhead boldly to explore what else this life might have to offer me.  It was scary and exciting all at the same time!

Atlanta truly beheld many great treasures for me (good and bad) and I am glad Goapele’s song found its way into my life – little did she know the impact it would have on me.  Speaking of impact, you never know whose life you are touching, so be conscious as you make the soundtrack of your life.  Know that somewhere, someone else is listening, watching and will be inspired – good or bad – by the soundtracks of your life.

So as I jam to my favorite sounds adding upon my own life’s soundtrack, I’ll give you some other songs to discover – and if they ‘move’ you in some way, feel free to share!  I’m anxious to know.

1)      Alicia Keys “Unthinkable” – motivates me to dare to dream the unthinkable in my life and soar!

2)      T.I.’s “I’m back”, when I’m feeling like I need a little ‘pick-me-up’;

3)      Mary Mary’s “Ordinary People”, when I feel a little doubtful and

4)      Ken Ford’sMoments in Love when I think of all the beauty surrounding me in love, life, family and fun times.

Until next time,

au revoir!

Follow me @twsprfirm

Leave a Reply

