For Once Bigger is Better

Most mornings I start with a quiet prayer for myself, my day and my family. Then depending how early it is, I get up from bed and head down to my home office to get my work day started. That’s usually followed by daily inspirational moments with Steve Harvey of the nationally syndicated Steve Harvey Morning Show and Frank Ski, a local Atlanta morning drive personality on V-103. And, if I’m really in need to stay focused on the positive, I tune into the Yolanda Adams morning show. The encouragement and uplifting messages shared in these morning inspirations allow me to reflect on what’s happening in my life – good or bad. When my thinking is focused on the challenges in my life, I can get comfort in knowing that I am covered and “this too shall pass. And, when I think about the great things happening, I take time to give thanks and honor the source from which the blessings flow. So, I am grateful to all of the people mentioned and those I have not, who help feed my spiritual connection throughout my day.

Well another radio personality, Morris in the Morning on WCLK’s 91.9 FM touched me this week, when he ended his show, as he does most mornings, giving mention to the fact that his show is never about him because it’s so much bigger than him. And that sentiment stuck with me.

Later on that day or the following, I was checking my facebook page, as I do a few times a day, to find notification of a message. Well this wasn’t the usual message from someone new or old finding me on facebook; or a request or notice of an event; or a request to do something from my ND family, my Kennedy Cougar family or my real family for which I am leading some event for. This message was different. It said,

We knew each other briefly at ND but all I can remember is what a “presence” you were then… I wish you all the best with your company and you have my full support. (I think women should tell each other that every now and then.)

This message from a woman I barely know truly touched me because it reminded me again that my life work and who I am so much BIGGER than me. And I say thanks to my inspiration for allowing me to touch people. I do not take the blessing or responsibility lightly! And for once, I celebrate my BIGGER and not stress over the other issues I have with being bigger!

Who reminds you that it’s BIGGER than you?

Leave a Reply

