How The Book of Me Inspires The Book of You

I sat at my desk typing this post with much on my mind and not sure of the focus of this post. There are many things have touched my life over the past two weeks. Beginning with the very personal and cathartic testimony of my challenges with weight and body image, to the deaths of public people many of us know about – Dorothy Height, Benjamin Hooks and GURU as well as a close family death of the last of a generation in my family.

Each of these life touches made me think more and more about the story I am crafting for my life. And, I realized that as I blog about whatever part of my life I am focused on at the moment, the most important requirement is that it be authentic me. That can emotionally taxing and difficult to get to sometimes in a world where we’re surrounded by only seeing the surface of things, but, I remind myself and those around me of that intention as often as I can.

As a marketing expert and new media entrepreneur, one of my greatest joys is being immersed in the quality stories that talk about challenges yet find the silver lining and the hope. I get exposure to many in my daily media fix. Others I get in obvious places and not so obvious places. And still, with as many stories as I am exposed, I find there is still room for more stories from perspectives that speak to, look like and reflect me.

I feel honored to be consciously making the choice to tell some stories for the first time or echoing other stories through the work we are doing with The Greenlight Project and other ventures to come from TWS Media. At the same time the story of a company dared to be started by two women (Rochelle Valsaint and Tamika Morrison) with a vision is a story of faith, test, perseverance and determination that is also being told. The details are being unfolded in real time and not always to our liking. Believe me y’all when I tell you, we are not sure what the day, week and/or month holds for us sometimes in our pursuit of entrepreneurship. But, we know what is being told is faith we have in the walk. And we are purposeful in this work daily.

So as we walk toward our dreams, we look to support and inspire the dreams of others by ‘Greenlighting’ some people, places, products, services and things that might not have otherwise gotten ‘the go.’

And we hope our audacity to create this story of legacy will touch many for years to come.

2 responses to “How The Book of Me Inspires The Book of You

  1. Yes! Everything you said – I say YES too! The book of ‘you’ most definitely inspires the book of ‘me’ and I’m grateful for every reminder you give – even when I’m not up to listening 🙂

  2. Ditto. I loved this & LOL @ Tamika.

Leave a Reply

