Is ‘Barack the Vote’ falling on Deaf Ears?

By: Tamika L. Morrison

If you’re a subscriber to the email campaign Paid for by Organizing for America, then you’ve seen email’s titled “Chip in what you can” to “President Obama on the line” and they are coming in from everyone including the President and First Lady themselves.  Not only that, but for me, I’m getting at least two or three of the same email within ten minutes of each other at least three times each – which is a little annoying, but I get it.  It all feels a little desperate and one has to wonder if the “Yes We Can” phenomenon has run its course and is falling on deaf ears?

I’ll admit, I’m on the fence and not sure if I’m encouraged to go out to the polls – a disgrace some are thinking and I’ll admit, I also feel like it’s a slap in the face of Martin Luther King, Jr., Coretta Scott King, Rosa Parks and all the other great leaders of the Civil Rights era.  With my bank account on a slow and fast drain and the economy not producing job interest or putting income in the market, I can’t help but consume myself with odd and end jobs to supplement my ‘in the meantime’.  Quite honestly, it’s not fitting in my time management zone.  Besides, I don’t even know what the heck the Democrats are promising or committing to doing outside of being lazy and resting on their laurels with a bunch of loud talk.  I don’t know…is it me or is ‘Barack the Vote’ falling on death ears…

Last week on TWS Media’s The Greenlight Project, we got into a timely discussion about the upcoming political campaigns and the importance to get out and vote as we talked with special guest, Carmen Dixon Rosenzweig, the creator of the influential blog AllAboutRace.com, one of the first blogs to facilitate cross-cultural and intra-cultural communication and social justice activism using digital technology. During the conversation, we talked about the lack of participation in the mid-term elections and why it’s imperative Democrats commit to voting to make an impact.  Let’s not forget, we did an amazing thing in 2008 by electing President Obama in the first place.  I believe he needs us more now with the emergence of racial hatred, racial hate groups such as The Tea Party and the Republicans unyielding criticism down to how he yawn’s when it’s captured in picture.  Are you kidding me?  Unfortunately not…

Here’s what we need to consider: While the President’s name is not on the ballot, his long-term vision and policies are.  According to AOL’s Black Voices column “White House: Every Vote Counts” dated October 26th writer Allison Monyei reminds us, “Voting in the midterm elections is just as important as voting in presidential elections. Midterm elections decide whether a president’s agenda will be enforced. Unfortunately, midterm elections typically have less voter turnout due to ignorance about how our political system works. In order for the agenda of President Obama to advance, he needs like-minded individuals in Congress to effectively translate his policies into legislation.”

It’s been proven, knowledge is power.  There’s strength in numbers – let’s not let Barack’s pleas and those of the White House fall on deaf ears – who knows if we’ll ever experience another time of political diversity in America.  Even though I’ll have to put a halt on my side hustle job search, I must commit to “Barack-ing the Vote” because at the rate of things, I can’t afford another Republican rule in my lifetime.

One response to “Is ‘Barack the Vote’ falling on Deaf Ears?

  1. If people turned a deaf ear to the pleas of President Obama and the rest of the Democratic party, I hope they have been overwhelmingly deafened by the results of those who did vote. I knew this would be a sad day. The poll I went to was practically empty. So much for Yes We Can.

Leave a Reply

